2016 AGM & Prizegiving

  • 8 July 2016
  • Fiona Lulham


At the end of May Nelson South held its Annual General Meeting and Annual Prizegiving events.  Many thanks to all our members who turned up to both events to ensure their success.

At the AGM, the new committee for the 2016/2017 season was elected.  We welcomed Sean Trengrove to the position of President as well as new committee members Fiona Burns, Pip Eden, Dave Hall and Kent Gibbons.  They join Mark Lile, Danie Hall, Paul Aydon, Tanya Glenn and Fiona Lulham who were committee members from last year.  We farewelled Kirsty Rukuwai who, along with hubby Nigel have been club stalwarts for 10 years.  However, we look forward to seeing them poolside or at the end of the pool in an official capacity at swim meets :-)  We also thanked Susie Foster for all her hard work as a NSSC committee member and club chair.  Susie will continue to be a part of the swimming community in her capacity as SNM Treasurer and SNM Management Committee member.

It was great to see our Life Members Jos Pattison, Margaret Young and Steve Fryer at the meeting.  We are very fortunate to have our proactive Life Members who readily impart their wisdom and knowledge and help the club retain its history.  

The passing of Club Patron Les Rodgers in August 2015 was noted.  Les was part of the NSSC committee which had the vision to lengthen HSS Pool from 25 yards to 25 metres, and Les was also instrumental in the "building" of the clubrooms above the old boys changing rooms - so Les has left a lasting legacy which will be enjoyed by many future members of the club.

It was also with great pleasure that we asked Jos Pattison to honour the club by being our new Club Patron - Jos accepted :-)  So for the first time in many years we have a full committee for the coming season.  Full details on the Club's committee can be found here.


Prizegiving was once again held at Hampden Street Hall.  It was great to be able to celebrate the successes of all our swimmers with the presentation of certificates, age group trophies and club records.  Congratulations to Libby Neill for being this year's recipient of the President's Cup.  Libby is an enthusiastic club member who supports her fellow club-mates as well as friends from other clubs in the region.  This was best exemplified at this year's Wellington Champs when she was an excellent buddy and mentor for our youngest swimmers at the meet, and was quick to show support for her Tasman swimming friends too.  Well done Libby! 

Full details of the Trophy Winners can be found here .


Thanks very much to all our families who contribute to, and support the Club.  Well done to our swimmers, who train hard year-round and put so much effort into their swimming.  And last but certainly not least, special thanks to our dedicated team of Coaches - once again we've had another outstanding year and look forward to another successful year in 2016/2017.



Share this post